Community Connections

The Arizona Community Foundation of Yuma invests in the communities of Yuma County. These investments are made possible through the generosity of residents who choose to make gifts of enduring impact.

Our endowed funds maximize donor gifts, improving the welfare of our community today while leaving a legacy for future generations.

Heart of Yuma Call for Nominations

Do you know people or nonprofit organizations in our community who have distinguished themselves for their spirit of service? Whether they contribute time to volunteer, lend financial support to great causes or provide leadership for nonprofit organizations, this is your opportunity to honor them.

Nominate an individual or organization for a Heart of Yuma Award. Awardees will be recognized at the Heart of Yuma community celebration on Tuesday, October 24 at 5:30 p.m. at the Schoening Conference Center at Arizona Western College. 

  • All nominations will be reviewed by the Heart of Yuma Blue Ribbon Panel.
  • All nominees, whether category winners or not, will be recognized for their contributions by being called forward at the event to receive the beautiful Heart of Yuma paperweight.

Nominations are now closed, contact Miguel Salcedo for more information.

Nomination Categories

Nominees in all categories will be evaluated using these four criteria: Involvement, Leadership, Initiative and Contribution.

  • Outstanding Volunteer 
  • Outstanding Leader 
  • Outstanding Young Leader (18 and under) 
  • Outstanding Benefactor 
  • Outstanding For-Profit Corporation 
  • Nominees in the category of Outstanding For-Profit Corporation should be companies that have demonstrated a history of generosity and/or leadership benefiting Yuma area nonprofit organizations. 

  • Outstanding Nonprofit Organization 
  • Nominees in the category of Outstanding Nonprofit Organization should be organizations that have a strong history of improving the quality of life in Yuma County.

2017 Philanthropist of the Year

During the Heart of Yuma event, the 2017 Philanthropist of the Year will be named. This prestigious award is given to the individual(s) who transcends all categories

Past Philanthropists of the Year

F.C. Braden
Alexander Dees
Ron Martin
Roberta and Stephen P. Shadle
Victor and Karen Smith
Donald N. Soldwedel
Glen Curtis
Louise Barkley
Gary Pasquinelli
Phil and Debbie Townsend
Rose and Steve Sturges
Jones Osborn
Jon and Liney Jessen
Joseph "Sonny" Rodriguez
Russ and Janet Jones
Hank and Cori Auza
Charlie and Michelle Castaneda