News Article

Stephen O. Evans elected Chair of ACF Board of Directors

Slate of officers also named


The Board of Directors of the Arizona Community Foundation has elected as chair Stephen O. Evans, retired Executive and Trustee of Equity Residential and current Chairman of the Evans Charitable Foundation.

Evans succeeds Shelley Cohn, former Executive Director of the Arizona Commission on the Arts, who served as chair since 2017.

A member of the Arizona Community Foundation Board of Directors since 2012, Evans served as vice chair, chaired the Special Assets and Compensation committees, and was previously a member of the Investment Committee.

Mr. Evans is a Director of Cole CCIT II, a national office and industrial Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) and a Director of Communities Southwest, an Arizona land development company. He retired as an Executive and Trustee of Equity Residential, America’s largest multifamily company. Prior to its merger with Equity Residential in 1998, he founded and served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Evans Withycombe Residential, a publicly traded REIT specializing in housing throughout the Southwest. After earning a bachelor’s degree and an MBA from Arizona State University, Mr. Evans served as an officer in the U.S. Air Force for four years.

Mr. Evans remains a committed community volunteer and has been active with various nonprofit organizations including Valley of the Sun United Way, W.P. Carey Business School, Trust for Public Land, Urban Land Institute Foundation, ASU Enterprise Partners, and Arizona State University Foundation.

“I am honored to be elected as the 14th chair of the Arizona Community Foundation Board,” said Evans. “The work I have been engaged in as a member of the ACF Board provides the foundation for my role as the next chair. I will continue to pursue the mission to lead, serve and collaborate to mobilize enduring philanthropy for a better Arizona.”

In addition to electing Evans as chair, the Board also named its slate of officers. Robbin Coulon, Esq., Director of Legal Services for the Area Agency on Aging, Region One, will become the vice chair; Leezie Kim, Esq., General Council for Fox Restaurant Concepts LLC, will serve as secretary; and Rufus Glasper, President and CEO of the League for Innovation in the Community College, will continue to serve as treasurer.

Back to Top